For my final project I decided to choose paper 1. That was by far my most favorite paper and I love sharing with people why I love movies so much. I decided that the best medium for me to use would be a prezi. I’ve never used a prezi before and I was a little nervous in the beginning but having the class on Thursday really did help me and give me confidence that I would be able to present with prezi. I’m excited to see what other things prezi has to offer and I’m trying hard to learn prezi as fast as I can so that I can utilize everything that is has to offer in my presentation.

                I know that Prezi will work very well with my presentation because I’m doing the “Journey” theme. The Journey theme basically shows a path and you move along the path. This is a great way to transform my essay because my first essay was me expressing my journey throughout life.  So what I’m planning to do is show the different points in my life that have had a huge impact on my life. I will talk about these and how they changed me. I haven’t decided yet the different types of media that I will use for my prezi, but I will definitely use pictures. I may decide to use small clips or trailers from the movies that I will use in my prezi, but I’m scared that it will take away too much time away from my presentation. One thing that I’m very excited is that for my essay I wasn’t able to use pictures to convey what I was showing. Instead I had to explain the visuals, which worked very well, but now I have the opportunity to show pictures in my presentation. The main point that I want people to take away from this presentation is how movies changed my life and made me the person that I am today. 

Madi Butler
12/3/2012 06:49:34 am

Thomas, I really like how you are making your presentation seem like a journey. I think that will express your interests best. I am also doing my final project on my first paper and transitioning from the music I liked over time with a prezi. I am also showing music videos to give a taste of the music I used to really enjoy. I believe this will help our class connect with what we really want to show. I faced the same challenge as you did because we can’t really explain a movie or in my case a song by using words and a video will definitely help to convey our notions.

Reply
Jacob Andring
12/3/2012 11:30:18 am

Hey Thomas, I really like your prezi idea and so far it all sounds great. A prezi will work fantasticlly with your first paper since you wrote about movies. Using the journey theme for your prezi will also do well for your first paper. I also decided to use my first paper for my final project and am using a prezi. Like you the main purpose of my preze is to show how much Tv shows have influenced me.

Reply
Ivey Kelly
12/3/2012 11:44:26 am

I remember your paper very well from our peer review groups and I think that a prezi is going to be perfect as your medium. I like that you wanted to get to know prezi so that you can use all that it has to offer, and from a previous user there is quite a bit. If you do get the chance to learn about it all then hats off to you!

Reply
Caroline Candela
12/3/2012 01:48:04 pm

Cool, your prezi idea sounds great. I still am very unfamiliar with the software so I am just going to stay with the old fashion collage idea. I wish I had to patience to learn how to use the software. I think it is a skill that will help me in the future next time I have to give a presentation. I look forward to viewing your prsentation especially with the clips you said you would add.

Reply
James Thomison
12/4/2012 05:31:31 am

You and I basically have the same post. I also chose paper 1 because it happened to be my favorite. I liked having the opportunity to reflect on my life and make sense of how I’ve been affected by digital media. I also liked the journey theme of Prezi, for it perfectly parallels the chronological structure of my paper.
Like you, I was a little bit unsure about how I was going to go about doing this project. When I read about it in the syllabus I wasn’t sure if I actually understood what it was I was supposed to do. But class on Thursday luckily cleared that up.

Reply



Leave a Reply.