This paper has evolved to become a more specific. Something that I've noticed in anytime that I write, is that I'm pretty general when I first right. After I write more and more I become more specific by putting in examples and becoming less general. I've fixed some punctuation here and there but the content of my paper has been most of the same. I haven't had to make any drastic changes so far. I sort of knew the direction that I was going to go when I first began writing this paper. 

What I really like about this paper is that it's about a topic that I've never written about. I've analyzed literature before but I feel that it's a lot more fun to analyze contemporary readings that I personally enjoy to read about. This essay isn't as fun as the first one but it is certainly not a boring one. There isn't much that I dislike about this paper. At first the length seemed pretty long but now I'm worried that I won't be able to have enough space to fit in everything that I want to say, I guess you can say I just started writing and then before I knew it I had almost written too much. I think that my reader will be interested to read about this because I'm being very honest in this paper and I'm not holding back in any of the arguments that I'm saying. It's funny because the magazine that I'm writing about is very blunt, and because of it my essay has taken the tone of being very blunt. 

I don't think that I would've done anything differently. I really like the topic that I chose because there is a lot to write about and it's about a magazine that I enjoy reading about. I was pretty lucky and it was pretty easy for me to find secondary sources because people have written journal articles on cosmopolitan and in fact some of them take the same standpoint as me. Overall, I feel very good about this paper and 
10/22/2012 07:31:09 am

Thomas, I can completely relate to the transitioning of your paper. My paper as well has evolved to become more specific. In my writing, I am also very general when I start off but then begin to include more facts and examples. Like you, I also haven’t made any drastic changes to my paper. It’s great that you knew what you were writing about before hand and the direction you wanted your paper to go in. I’m sure that helped a lot in your writing process and in enhancing your paper and getting it to the final draft you want.

Reply
10/22/2012 11:43:44 am

Thomas, I totally agree with the general thing. When I first write any of my essays I can be very general and straight to the point. My first draft is usually less into detail or descriptive and just more of thoughts and ideas. However, as I go on my paper gets more developed. You also made a good point about how you never written a paper on analyzed literature and thinking about neither have I. It makes it challenging but fun at the same time. I never thought I would have to analyze visuals and write about it in an essay.

Reply
Jacob Andring
10/22/2012 12:06:38 pm

I also have a "general" problem where i am way to general with everything i write. The confrences ive had point that out to me and i always have to go back and add specific examples. I agree with you when you said that this paper was less fun to write. When i wrote my first paper for this class my ideas flowed but for this one i had to think a lot about what i was going to say.

Reply
Charla Hughes
10/25/2012 02:50:14 am

Great conversation here, everyone. Thanks for your reflections both on your writing processes and on the topic; your responses will definitely impact how I assign this topic in the future!

Reply



Leave a Reply.