Ever since I was a little kid I would always look up at the sky and dream of flying. I would see the airplanes zipping through the clouds and all I could think of is how great it would be to fly a plane. Later as I grew older I soon started to realize that this would be a lot harder than I expected. Anything pertaining to the sky has always interested me. I would see people skydiving in movies and in video games and all I could think of is one day being able to skydive. I just couldn't imagine what the feeling of free falling could feel like, and after 18 long years I finally experienced it for the first time. 

The only reason why I didn't skydive near my birthday was because my father also skydived when he was younger and I promised that I would wait for him. He's currently healing from surgery and the impact could damage the repairs he made. However, when I came here I was eager to join the Skydiving club and I really wanted to just get into the air and jump. I made my first tandem jump (a jump when you are tied in front of someone) almost a month ago and it was amazing. But, I wanted to go much farther. I want to learn how to skydive on my own. 

I'm currently working on getting my license to skydive. So far I've done two jumps with instructors, and in all honesty it was really scary. I wasn't tied with anyone and I jumped out of the airplane on my own and when I deployed my parachute it was just me and blue sky. It took a lot to make that first jump because of the uncertainty that would follow but I have to tell you, free falling is one of the best experiences that I've ever had in my entire life. On my third jump there were some clouds and I fell right in the circle of a cloud and it was just like a movie, with the white clouds and blue sky, it was just an amazing experience that I will never forget. However, this excitement quickly faded when I deployed my parachute at 4,000 feet, something went wrong. When the parachute deployed from the rig some of the wires got tangled up and it didn't fully deploy the right way. I will admit in my head I sort of freaked out but within a second I pulled myself back together and remembered my training. Luckily I was able to fix the issues within a couple of seconds but it's just a scary thing to experience on your second solo/training dive. 

Although I have yet to fly a plane, I still intend on getting my pilots license for a small plane to learn how to do tricks in the air and get another experience of flying. In addition, I want to learn how to wingsuit which is where you get into a suit that imitates the shape of a flying squirrel, you jump out and literally fly. With the suit you can actually fly and every time I watch videos of them I get extremely jealous. I just can't wait to get back in the air, jump and get better at what I love to do which is skydiving. There's always been something about the sky that has always attracted me and I have yet to discover what it is. 
Charla Hughes
10/15/2012 12:26:40 pm

Excellent post, Thomas! You do a great job of capturing the thrill of skydiving and your passion for learning both how to skydive and how to fly. Best of luck with the skydiving club!

Reply
Alyssa Marsellos
10/15/2012 02:41:15 pm

Tomas, wow, great post. I can honestly say that skydiving is probably the one thing I have never once considered doing in my lifetime, but your post made me want to try it. You can feel the passion in your words and can almost see your actions with your descriptions. Also, great use of video and graphics, it really leaves more of a well-rounded effect bringing multimedia into the post. It is also really impressive that you are so motivated and have learned so much by yourself. I wish you the best in Skydiving Club, and I wish your father well.

Reply



Leave a Reply.