After I saw the recut trailers in class I was really excited to see more of them because in my opinion they are so incredibly funny. I just think its crazy funny how you can change a horror film and turn into a romance trailer. I mean think of how many people would be tricked if if movie studios did this (they do it to a small extent to attract a wide audience, but it's not nearly as close to what these recut trailers do). When I heard that The Ring made you think that it was a romance movie I knew that I had to watch it.

Whoever made this is really smart because if I didn't know what the movie was about I would instantly believe that this is a romance movie. The creator makes you believe this through the music that he uses and the scenes that are shown throughout the movie are either happy or struggling which is basically what most romance movies are. However, the creator did not even include one scary moment throughout the entire trailer. This leads you to believe that it is not in fact a horror film.

Although I've never seen the movie I kind of know what it is about. From what I've heard I think the way the movie goes is that if you watch a video you will die in seven days. The main character in the recut trailer says "My son watched the tape" to a man of her age, making you believe that the son saw a scandalous tape that they made together. This is not true because the tape is in fact about a girl who tries to kill people.

One of the visual elements that is included is rain, and rain is almost always used during romance movies. Basically anything that is found in romance movies can be found in the trailer, they're just used out of a different context. When the main character is crying, you think she is crying because of the difficulties out of a relationship. This is wrong because she is most likely crying out of fear of dying.

Overall whoever created this trailer is very skilled at misleading people because I couldn't believe that a horror film like The Ring could be mislead people to think that it is a romance movie.


Charla Hughes
11/19/2012 05:37:52 am

Great post, Thomas! I had never really thought about how often rain appears in romance movies until I read your post. It's true; as soon as you mentioned it, I immediately thought of Breakfast at Tiffany's. Very insightful comments here!

Reply



Leave a Reply.